agnès calas

textile designer

Born in Paris and Mediterranean at heart, Agnès Calas first trained in industrial design before discovering weaving with a weaver in Barcelona. This experience rekindled childhood memories and family transmission around fabric and a real desire to be as close as possible to the material.

This encounter was confirmed during her training at the Atelier National d'Art Textile in Paris (ANAT-ENSCI), a total immersion in the language of fabric.

Her experiences as a trainer on the Pointcarré textile software and as a teacher in the textile department of the Universidad Mayor in Santiago de Chile, allowed her to discover the pleasure of transmitting and sharing her passion.

In 2010, she opened her workshop near Perpignan, Since then she has been working with different textile designers with prestigious clients such as Chanel. Their creations handwoven in her workshop are mostly intended for international clients.

Thanks to this experience acquired in production for other designers, she decided to develop her own creations for interiors.

Member of Ateliers d'Art de France, collaborations with craftsmen and visual artists are now enriching her activity and extending her practice to the creation of multiform works to which she brings her knowledge of the textile world.

EN

agnès calas

designer textile

Parisienne d’origine et méditerranéenne de cœur, Agnès Calas se forme d’abord au design industriel avant de découvrir le tissage chez une tisserande à Barcelone. Cette expérience rallume des souvenirs d’enfance et de transmission familiale autour du tissu et un réel désir d’être au plus proche de la matière.

La rencontre se confirme lors de sa formation à l’Atelier National d’Art Textile à Paris (ANAT-ENSCI), une immersion totale dans le langage du tissu.

Ses expériences de formatrice sur le logiciel textile Pointcarré et d’enseignante au sein du département textile de la Universidad Mayor à Santiago du Chili, lui permettent de découvrir le plaisir de transmettre et d’échanger autour de sa passion.

En 2010, elle ouvre son atelier à côté de Perpignan. Depuis elle collabore avec différents designers textiles aux clients prestigieux comme Chanel. Leurs créations tissées main dans son atelier sont la plupart du temps destinées à des clients internationaux.

Grâce à cette expérience acquise en production pour d’autres créateurs, elle décide de développer ses propres créations pour la décoration d’intérieure.

Membre d’Ateliers d’Art de France, les collaborations avec des artisans d’arts et artistes plasticiens viennent aujourd’hui enrichir son activité et étendre sa pratique à la création d’œuvres multiformes auxquelles elle apporte sa connaissance de l’univers textile.

FR